About Conclave

Conclave at Amalthea aims to bridge the gap between the corporate and academic worlds. It works towards bringing together the greatest names in the Industry and Academia from across the globe and provides a platform for them to work on present as well as future challenges. Moreover, it is a medium of interaction between young innovators and the public. The conclave will mainly focus on different aspects of innovation and research with special emphasis on the different stages in the cycle of design and innovation.

Theme: "Building a sustainable future through vision and technology"

Conclave Schedule

Amalthea'15 Speakers

Dr. Sanjay Burman

Director CAIR, Bengaluru

Dr. Sanjay Burman has contributed to the design of several security solutions, which have been productionised and deployed in the field. He has won a number of Republic Day Awards. He was awarded Sir CV Raman Young Scientist Award in 1999; Laboratory Scientist of the Year award in 2005; DRDOs Agni Award and Performance Excellence Award in 2005, 2006, and 2007 for the development of secure communication systems that have been productionised. He has also received the DRDO Scientist of the Year Award in 2010 from the Prime Minister of India. Dr. Burman is a founder member of the Cryptology Research Society of India. He has a number of publications to his credit in the areas of cryptography, security and re-configurable computing in national and international journals.

Mr. Sourabh Kaushal

Engineer and Space Explorer

Sourabh Kaushal is an Indian engineer and space explorer. He proposed new methods to mitigate space debris. His research was selected in many international conferences organised by NASA, ISRO, JAXA, ESA, IEEE, ISEC, Microsoft etc. Sourabh worked with Google Lunar X prize Team- Team Indus as a System Engineer. He received "Dr. Kalpana Chawla Young Scientist Award"; was runner up of the "Jerome Pearson Award 2010" by ISEC, USA; was finalist of the MIT TR35 Young Innovator Award and was nominated for the "Jerome Lederer Space Safety Award 2013" by IAASS. He also received the "Young Innovator Award 2013" by Indira International Innovation Summit, India.

Dr. V. Ramgopal Rao

Professor, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

Dr. V. Ramgopal Rao is a Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay. Dr. Ramgopal Rao has more than 350 publications in various journals, and 29 patents in the areas of Electron devices and Nanoelectronics. Ramgopal Rao was the first elected chairman for the Indian Section of the American Nano Society. He is also the recipient of multiple prizes including the Infosys Prize in 2013, Techno-Mentor award from the Indian Semiconductor Association in 2009 and the IBM faculty award in 2007.

Dr. L. N. Harsh

Vice Chancellor, Jodhpur Agriculture University

Dr. L. N. Harsh is the Vice Chancellor of Agriculture University, Jodhpur (Rajasthan), India. He has also been one of the members of the "United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (UN IPCC)" which is the joint winner of Nobel Peace Prize for 2007. He is an Expert Member of the International Panel of Expert on Desertification (IPED) for UNCCD in Geneva. He has visited many countries including Iran, USA, Kenya, and Zimbabwe to give talks about his research and innovations in the field of agriculture.

Dr. Durgesh Rai

Professor, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

Dr. Durgesh Rai is a professor in the Department of Civil Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kanpur. Prior to joining IIT Kanpur, he was a research fellow at the University of Michigan (1996-1997), and one of the faculty of the Department of Earthquake Engineering at IIT Roorkee (1997-2001). He received the 2000 Shah Family Innovation Prize from the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute(USA) and the Young Engineer Award from the Indian National Academy of Engineering (1999), among others. He is also elected Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (2010). Dr. Rai received a B.E. (Honors) from National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirapalli (1989), an M.S. from the University of Oklahoma, Norman (1992), and a Ph.D. from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (1996). He is coordinator of National Information Centre of Earthquake Engineering (NICEE) at IIT Kanpur and serves on the Board of World Seismic Safety Initiative (WSSI) of International Association of Earthquake Engineering (IAEE).

Mr. Abhay Potdar

Senior Vice President Renewables, CLP India Pvt Ltd

Mr. Abhay Potdar started his career with NTPC working on coal power plants, and also the first two combined cycle gas turbine power plants. Then he moved on to implement first private sector dual fuel combined cycle power plant at Essar. This was followed with a stint in the UK, as associate plant manager with Powergen Plc. on large coal based power plant in UK. He also worked with CLP India (part of CLP Group of Hongkong) for 17 years leading Gas & Coal based power plants. He is currently heading the Renewable Energy Assets of CLP India comprising wind power generation assets spread over 6 states. He believes strongly in operational excellence and in the ability of Indian teams to achieve globally best standards. He was also member of CLP’s expedition to Antarctica in 2012 in support of CLP’s climate vision 2050.